Gaming – and Faith?!

Faith

Confession time: at the end of a long or tired day, I enjoy nothing more than blowing stuff up, shooting stuff to pieces, or silently stalking my enemies. Yes, I am a gamer.

The sad thing is, when I tell people that I enjoy gaming, they assume I’m an anti-social freak who can’t leave his house without a digital device. Though all of that is partly true, it’s not gaming that’s done that to me! Gaming is an awesome hobby, but it doesn’t dominate my life. And I know I’m not the only one who feels like this.

This morning I stumbled upon a couple of awesome articles by Catholic blogger, Colin Gormley. They speak of his love for gaming and how he is now trying to ‘intersect’ his love for gaming with his Catholic faith. Whether or not you’re a person of faith, they’re pretty interesting articles. Check out part one here, and part two here.

In part two, he mentions a few of the good aspects of gaming, which should be focused on to endorse and support development and society:

  1. Games provide a rule set and structure
  2. Games provide community and foster cooperation
  3. Games are fun

 

With games as common as they now are, how do you think they can or will affect our society?

Leave a Reply

